top of page


Each year the Manistee Recreation Association (MRA) presents the Charles E. Schoedel Outstanding Service Award to an individual and an organization.  These awards represent commitment and dedication to recreation in Manistee County.  This award was established in 1981 for the late Charles E. Schoedel in gratitude for his long-term service to the MRA.  Mr. Schoedel served on the MRA Board for over thirty years and had a great impact on the development of the MRA as a strong, leisure service agency.  


2023 Organization Recipient:

City of Manistee DPW/Parks

The City of Manistee DPW/Parks Department was selected for their ongoing work in the upkeep and maintenance of our community’s athletic fields and courts.  Without their support, many of the MRA’s programs would not be possible. Our city recreational areas (Duffy Park, First Street Softball fields, First Street Tennis Courts, Mack Park, Mucha Field, and Sands Park) are clean and safe for our participants and their families to use throughout the year.  Not only does the MRA benefit because of the City Parks Department, but our entire community does as well. 

2023 Individual Recipient:

Bill Edmondson

Bill Edmondson was selected for his ongoing dedication to coaching youth sports.  For nearly a decade, he has coached baseball, basketball, football, soccer, and travel league teams.  His method of teaching makes learning sports easy for his young athletes and motivates them to excel.   Bill’s compassion and hard work is (and will continue to be) an asset to our youth throughout Manistee County. 


Previous Recipients


1981 Martin Marietta Dave Petersen 

1982 Kiwanis

1983 Manistee BD. Of ED 

            Manistee Jaycees 

1984 VFW Walsh Post 4499

1985 Manistee Salvation Army

1986 Manistee Elks

1987 Rotary

1988 Kieszkowski Farms

1989 4-H

1990 Seng’s

1991 Alternatives For Area Youth 

1992 Manistee County Foundation 

1993 Manistee County Jr. High Football 

1994 Brethren FHA

1995 Manistee News Advocate 

1996 Manistee Soccer Club 

1997 Manistee Clan 
         Muzzleloaders Club 

1998 Morton International

1999 Cops For Kids

2000 Shell Western E & P

2001 Intermediate School District 

            Shore Line Academy 

2002 City of Manistee 

2003 Lutz Family Farm

2004 Sunrise Rotary
         Evening Rotary 

2005 Third Coast

2006 Manistee Catholic Central 

         Jerry Lewis Photographers

2007 Manistee Kiwanis

2008 Sports Ink

2009 Lance’s Irrigation

2010 Manistee County Little League 

2011 Onekama Consolidated Schools  

2012 Filer Township

2013 Doug Schlaff Youth Fund

2014 TES Filer City Recycle Committee 

2015 MS Creative Services 

2016 Linke’s Body Shop 

2017 Martin Marietta

2018 Century 21 

2019 Water’s Edge 

2023 City of Manistee – DPW/Parks Dept.


1981 Dave Petersen 

1982 John Ellen 

1983 Harry Nowak 

1984 George Eble 

1985    Charlotte Hughes 

1986 Dorothy Lundbom 

1987 Pete Nezki 

            Richard Seemuth 

1988 Ken Grabowski 

1989 Ray Franz 

1990Hilda Edmondson 

1991 Richard Guillen 

1992 Art Anderson 

1993 Louree Samenski 

1994 ED Haik 

1995Gini Pelton 

1996 Tim Bromley 

1997 John Rozga 

1998    Juanita LaFeir 

1999    Jim and Melinda Kieszkowski 

2000 Bob Fenstermacher

2001 Homer Ramsdell 

2002    Fred McDonald

2003    Ed Leino-Jones 

2004    Kathy Fenstermacher 

2005 Mike DeVoe 

2006    Paul Morrill 

2007 Bill and Marty Paine 

2008 Juanita LaFeir 

2009 Corey Van Fleet 

2010 Christa Johnson 

2011 Cheryl Griffin  

2012 Kathy Smith 

2013 Eric Ross 

2014 The Sheffield family 

2015 David and Hilary Edmondson 

2016 Ann Smith 

2017 Jack Ball 

2018    Cathy Meagher 

2019 Wendy Adamski 

2023 Bill Edmondson 

bottom of page